Kerrs Pink – Mellom Oss

1981 (reissue 1992 Musea)

1: Mellom Oss (5:36)
2: Tröstevise (2:56)
3: Tröstevals (1:02)
4: Östenfor Ord (6:06)
5: Hvem Snakker Til Meg? (5:29)
6: Elegi (3:17)
7: Mens Tiden Forgar (17:17) :
– Dråper
– Haven
– Adams Sang
– Fallet
– Evas Sang
– Mens Tiden Forgår
– Etterspill
Bonus tracks:
8: Marius (3:16)
9: Parademarsj For Jubilanter (1:40)
10: Den Siste Russ (2:36)
11: Hyllest Til Olga (3:00)
12: Trömborg Samba (3:27)
13: Fredsmarsjen (3:15)

Kerrs Pink, named after a potato variety, is a Norwegian band that has been playing since 1973 with a mixture of Scandinavian folklore and progressive rock music. That the band has had to deal with the necessary line-up changes seems logical to me. The fact that no one formerly can be found in the current line-up is a pity.  At the time the band was very busy. Initially, their first two albums were available exclusively in Norway until the French Musea released a reissue of their 1981 “Mellom Oss” album in 1992.

This considerably expanded version is a blessing. First of all, six of the seven songs from the original “Mellom Oss” have been re-recorded and the seventh, the 17-minute epic Mens Tiden Forgar, is remixed on this reissue. There are also no less than six bonus tracks present and they all sound excellent. In fact, they are not inferior to the other material.

From start to finish the album has wonderful guitar work, exuberant, virtuoso and melodic like Camel. In addition, if the Hammond organ (or any vintage keyboard instrument for that matter) lives up to its fame, everything falls into place. Kerrs Pink knows how to give his music a certain contagiousness that is absolutely distinctive. In that respect, listen to the opening title track that is a charm offensive pur sang. The music of Kerrs Pink occasionally has something jolly as can be heard in Tröstevise. The song sounds like an anthem of a German beer brewers’ guild, nichtwahr? Östenfor Ord has a strong passage, where a beautiful twin guitar solo sounds. Kerrs Pink is a master in applying such appetizers. In the epic Mens Tiden Forgar, the band slows down a bit but in the final the men are blissful. As mentioned, this reissue contains fantastic bonus material. These are compositions that the band wrote in the 70s and were frequently performed live. Make no mistake, however, these are mostly studio recordings. Nice, that sparkling acoustic guitar in Marius and in Parademarsj For Jubilanter. There also is a samba, a passionate rehearsal recording in Santana style. The last one of this nostalgic block is Fredsmarsjen, which once appeared on an obscure Norwegian LP. The song is based on a nice guitar theme although it must be said that the last few chords are out of place.

At last I want to mention that the sleek cover design is in strong contrast to the frivolous music on the record. What is true is the title of the album. “Mellom Oss” means ‘between us’. Rarely have I heard an album where the noses point in the same direction as with these potatoes.

Harald Lytomt: guitar, flute, keyboards, bass (8,10)
Halvard Haugerud: keyboards (7,12), bass (7), vocals (2,5)
Per Øyvind Nordberg: keyboards, backing vocals (2)
Jostein Hansen: vocals (7), guitar, bass, backing vocals(2)
Tore Fundingsrud: drums
Robert Herland: backing vocals (2)
Tore Johansen: backing vocals (2)
Tormod Gangflöt: viola (3,4)
Kirsten Hognestad Böhn: vocals (7)
Lars-Thore Lande: bass (7)
Trond Böhn: guitar (12)
Terje Solås: drums (12)

© Dick van der Heijde 2022