Crucis – Kronologia

1995 (Record Runner)

1: Todo Tiempo Posible (4:33)
2: Mes (4:54)
3: Corto Amanecer (2:55)
4: La Triste Vision Del Entierro Proprio (5:00)
5: Ironico Ser (4:06)
6: Determinados Espejos (6:54)
7: Recluso Artista (6:45)
8: No Mi Separen De Mi (6:06)
9: Los Delirios Del Mariscal (10:10)
10: Pollo Frito (5:45)
11: Abismo Terrenal (12:30)

Crucis was a four-piece prog band from Argentina that only existed for a few years, from 1974 to 1977 to be exact. This time was quite a turbulent one. In the early years, for example, the band line-up was completely overhauled. One by one three band members left and the only one who stayed on base was singer/guitarist Gustavo Montesano. He formed a new Crucis around him where he made the switch from guitar to bass guitar. The band of bands was born.

Wow, what an interaction the men show on the only two albums that have been given to us. We are talking about the self-titled debut from 1976 and its successor “Los Delirios Del Mariscal” a year later. These albums were released together on one CD in 1995 under the name “Kronologia”. Holy moly, what a party.

The compilation album perfectly shows the lush mix of influences the guys were working on. The music has the virtuosity of Emmerson, Lake And Palmer, the organ harmonies of Deep Purple, the subtlety of Focus and the melodic side of the old Kayak. Bands like Kaipa and Sebastian Hardy can also be greeted.

Through Anibal Kerpel, the band sound is dominated by the organ, but also by guitar played by Pino Marrone. It is wonderfully held together by the driving bass playing of Gustavo Montesano and the really crazy drumming of Gonzalo Farrugia. He’s so incredibly good. The music may be quite busy, our raging Gonzalo certainly does not make it any more relaxed. Thanks to his determined work, everything is of added value. You swallow every note and there are many.

The debut consists of seven tracks and the successor of four, which means that especially with the first songs there is some accesability. In that context, opener Todo Tiempo Posible is a fine example for minutes. Supporting organ chords and melodic guitar tones form the frame for the vocal parts until the band really explodes. Kerpel comes with great runs on his organ and Farrugia rolls and hits breaks like his life depends on it. What this passage makes immediately clear: Crucis is exciting and if you can’t stand the turbulence, listen to it with an open mind.

At the time, both LPs were recorded almost live-in-the-studio, noting that each track was recorded in about two takes. You can hear a huge amount of energy and spontaneity in the music. Take, for example, the three delicious instrumental tracks from the debut and go crazy with that synth solo in Determinados Espejos. The vocal songs also have a wonderful appearance. Beautiful are the stately harpsichord sounds in La Triste Vision Del Entierro Proprio even as the guitar work in Ironico Ser.

The tracks from the 1977 LP show a slightly more mature band. The first song, No Mi Separen De Mi, is not such a good example of this, although the Machiavel-like part with its Solina strings and Moog is very joyful. With the ten-minute title track Los Delirios Del Mariscal, the band rises above itself. What a beautiful melody, what a feeling. It is almost recalcitrant how Crucis gives this song a rocky ending. With the enthusiastic Abismo Terrenal, the focus is on the guitar and you can’t get enough of that, for sure. We are talking about the closing track which also includes a keyboard solo, a bass solo and a short drum solo. Gratitude roars across the room.

Meanwhile, the four band members have fanned out all over the world following their musical hunger. Would they ever think back to that illustrious time when inspiration came from heaven?

Gustavo Montesano: bass, vocals
Anibal Kerpel: keyboards, organ, Moog
Pino Marrone : guitar
Gonzalo Farrugia: drums

© Dick van der Heijde 2022